08
Aug
11

this is goa my friend…

There is a wooden cottage in Small Vagatore facing the sea; the sea which rumbles so beautifully 24/7 making me happy about the fact that I am alive and I am here.. If I go down the hill to reach the sands, I would find a shack wherein a 60 year old ‘maaji’ would cook fresh Mackerel rava masala fry for me. Sitting in one of those broken chairs there, u could feel the sea breeze touching ur soul. If u close ur eyes, it’s even more powerful. This is Goa my friend!!!

Goa is nothing like what u hear from ur friends or watch in movies. Every single Tom returning from goa will have a story to tell about how he got sloshed, how he partied, where he found “the grass,” blah blah blah… This is not goa.. This is what people make out of it. Goa is actually much much much more than that. It’s a place where u can actually communicate with nature. For instance, I went to Chappora fort a few days back. The archeological department has not yet taken up responsibilities on this amazing place which is a shame; but in a way a blessing. It’s not at all crowded like Aguada fort or Dona Paula or Calangute beach and there are no securities also. But once u climb up the hill and reach the fort, u would actually feel so peaceful. U would feel so connected to nature. For me, there was a constant piano playing in my heart and the moment it started to rain, it had an additional string back up🙂. Rain is such a beautiful inconvenience. And once it stops, the breeze walks in with a twist and when u close ur eyes, it ll embrace u like ur mother. So pure, so sanctifying!!!

Goa brings such amazing visuals in front of ur eyes. My favorite is north goa, where I ve been staying for the past one week. Vagatore, anjuna, arambol, mapusa, tiracol there are so many places in north goa where u would find the villages of kerala with a Baskin Robbins🙂 Some places are just like kerala, but u would find a lot more smiling faces. People are nice but not too nice that they would poke their nose into ur lives. Just the right amount.

Goa is flooded with couples in love. Everywhere u go, u would find them. I love seeing people who are in love. You don’t get to watch them in public in kerala. Our small towns and villages treat adolescent romance like a sin. When I was in school, all of us used to keep our crushes like big secrets. If ur teacher finds it out, u ll ve to bring ur parents to school. It’s like a black mark on ur character. so the most sacred feeling of this planet was often hidden like a dark emotion. But of course there were exceptions. I ve a friend of mine called Abhilash who started seeing a junior girl called Jisha when we were in 7th std. They were caught by the teachers a million times and convicted for feeling for each other. But both of them were fearless. May be they knew it’s a sacred thing. By god’s grace now they are happily married and today when I see them, I feel proud. Standing for love is not a small thing. Of course true romance and unconditional love are all big words, but making an attempt towards it is a human responsibility. More than responsibility, it’s a necessity. There is so much to learn from a woman for a man and vice versa. I don’t know why I am saying all this, may be it’s because of Goa.🙂

Tomorrow I am packing my bags from here. All these moments of experiences would become memories from the past. But one thing is for sure. From now on, if I am traveling, I would carry a map; not the stories that my friends tell me. Because, to a large extent, my experiences are going to shape from what I am and what I do. Goa has managed to teach me this. Thank u goa. I am taking u with me!!!! [with a piano playing and a string back up]

Vineeth..


55 Responses to “this is goa my friend…”


  1. 1 iluvvineeth
    August 8, 2011 at 12:14 am

    Has anyone ever told you how amazing you are? =) ♥

  2. August 8, 2011 at 12:18 am

    Before reading ur post,

    Al the best Dude.. wish u all success.. Rock it.

  3. 3 Zara Issac
    August 8, 2011 at 12:39 am

    amazing words, felt like one of my best friend is talking with me. i love the 2nd last paragraph, which remind me about the school days in Kerala. and about my first love too.. thank you for such a beautiful description.

    Zara.

  4. 4 DS
    August 8, 2011 at 1:47 am

    Good to know that you enjoyed Goa and found out the right difference between Kerala & Goa, though nature has so much in common between them! You really made me laugh on reading ‘….I don’t know why I am saying all this, may be it’s because of Goa…. ” My take on it is, why don’t you just admit and write that ‘you miss your girlfriend!’

  5. 6 Lakshmy
    August 8, 2011 at 2:27 am

    Really nice comparison and wonderful post!!!! Thanks buddy for making me laugh after a hectic night out!!!…It was visual treat when u were explaining abt it!!!….Keep roaming and post ur exp like this…cya…

    oh ya..forgot..happy frndship week!!!

  6. August 8, 2011 at 5:58 am

    ezhuthiyathu vechu nokkumbol ini keralathilekku varilla enno thonnunnu………. goa-yil flat medicho???😛

  7. August 8, 2011 at 6:53 am

    You write wonderfully about your tours. The one to Poland was also very beautifully scripted, like the reader is walking along with you through those places..Goa is a place which holds precious memories for me, i felt so good after reading your post..sort of nostalgia🙂 amazing about the concept of love,true romance and unconditional love..ah..i have come to conclude those exist only in books and movies..glad to hear about your friends who made it real..keep writing and dont have too much baskin robins..you are putting on weight that wont look good on u..i wont say to go to gym or work out..that wont suit u too..he he..

  8. 9 Divya NAIR
    August 8, 2011 at 8:45 am

    reading your goa experience felt like a breeze of wind on my face. I even forwarded it to my boyfriend.Wish I could just stand at the sea and think forever.The sounds of peace and freedom..Thats what sea makes me feel..Love is a very strong word,little more stronger than hate…The thoughts of it show up most where you least expect it.

  9. 10 ceebee
    August 8, 2011 at 10:25 am

    making an attempt towards it,..yeah it really counts :)….this post makes you so close to ppl like us.. :)…let this experience enlighten your next flick with all its genuineness…..way to go my friend…prayers🙂 !!!!

  10. August 8, 2011 at 10:53 am

    Hi Vineeth

    Your description about Goa is awesome

    Can you put up more places where you visited in Goa?

    Wish to hear from you…………….:)

  11. 12 Rachana.M.S
    August 8, 2011 at 11:20 am

    thank you 4 ur description

  12. 13 Shibu
    August 8, 2011 at 11:58 am

    U said it Vineeth…. absolutely right….

  13. 14 linesh
    August 8, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    Wow ! what a nice description … Thank u vineeth. I am expecting more beautiful posts about your Tour.

  14. 15 Jessna
    August 8, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    Amazing Narration!!

  15. 16 Udaya Prakasan
    August 8, 2011 at 1:07 pm

    Dear Vineeth,

    You gave an official explanation about love..Its not due to Goa, you could state like that,dear..! its due to the tremendous or terrific experiences, you have been aquiring since from your school days. Whatever it is…am damn sure that you are having a lively love affair with a cute, dark emotion, sin doing, teacher-fearing but atlast a fine ultimate satisfaction of TRUE LOVE…!! Dear…Best wishes for your loving life ahead..!!

    – Udayan Paral
    Thalassery.

  16. August 8, 2011 at 2:26 pm

    Vineeth…. Am i smelling something fishy out here…. i guess John Brittas chetanodu paranja chuttikaliyil kaaryamaayi enthokkeyo udane thanne nadakkaan ponathinte soochanayaano vaakkukalile ee painkilitham ?? neeyum galakkaanalledaa gochu gallaaa….

  17. 18 sunilmj
    August 8, 2011 at 3:07 pm

    Goa and ur story goes in hand to hand (They both are walking in goa with a piano playing and a string back up in the background) right??????????????????????????????😉

  18. August 9, 2011 at 12:19 am

    hmmmm… vineethettante time best time…

  19. 20 Rave
    August 9, 2011 at 4:43 am

    ” It’s like a black mark on ur character. so the most sacred feeling of this planet was often hidden like a dark emotion.”- Sad But True!!

  20. 21 Tennyson
    August 9, 2011 at 9:35 am

    more than the description of goa i liked the love story part………
    whoever that person was HATS OFF you are the man.
    And it looks like our dear vinnethettan is deeply in love,best of luck

    Tennyson

  21. 22 Vaishak Buddha
    August 9, 2011 at 12:41 pm

    I watched ‘Chappa’ Before three days from Bangalore. Terrific Film. Sameer Thahir plays it like Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu. There was some moments I stood up from my seat because of the heightened emotional state the film made in my mind. For the first time, I liked your performance and your performance was terrific. The expression in your face when saying ” Inikonnithu charge cheythu tharaan kayyuaa ?” to the mobile store guy. I can’t forget that expression. You have literally become Ansary. Please be a part of such meaningful cinema in future too. But from watching the trailers, I knew that you would do complete justice to the role. For me , the revelation of the movie is Fahad. He was fantastic. This is the first well shot movie from Canon 7D. ‘Shaitan’ was shot in parts in 7D and it was good but I never thought that one can shoot a movie completely in 7 D in this much clarity and ‘Film like Look’. ‘Chappa Kurishu’ is the best topical thriller after “Shaitan”. Well Done, Guys !

    P.S : I hope that the producers recovered the budget of the movie. I hope Sameer will make movies according to his own taste in future too.

  22. 23 Vaishak Buddha
    August 9, 2011 at 12:50 pm

    ‘Chappa’ is the revival of Indian Cinema. Now, I can show this film to anybody from any part of the world and say ‘this is cinema of my land’. Thanks to the entire team. It is proved that Malayalam also has mettle to do ‘it’.

    Chappa is not hard rock but Metal, Heavy Metal !

  23. 24 Mazin Koroth
    August 9, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    vineethett,

    my only acquaintance with Goa is thru movies like ‘Dil Chahtha hai’ nd ‘Goa’. U just uncovered a new face of it and ‘on the face of it’!😀. True that we should carry a map rather than friend’s stories. But im definitely gonna carry ur story of being in Goa.

    btw, i really think yu shud considering writing travelogues. I’ve told this before, when i read ur posts from Prague.

    p.s: malayaliyude ‘basic instinct’ inu itt oru kott koduthath enikk ishtappettu ketto! ‘poking the nose’.

    be back soon.
    mazin

  24. August 10, 2011 at 10:15 am

    your description of Goa is much different than what I had heard of..🙂 I’m going to Thalaserry today hopefully I’ll be able to watch ‘Chappa Kurish’ super excited to visit thalaserry n 4 d movie..:) hope to hear from you soon chetta😀

  25. 26 roopesh t
    August 10, 2011 at 10:22 am

    haaiiii vineethettaaaaaa,,,,,,,oru karyam vittu poyi….avide ocr num opr num vila kuravaaaa…..ini athano karyam….hey kandalariyaaam veesillaaaa ennu….anyway its wondrfull dude………………………….

  26. August 10, 2011 at 10:53 am

    i just knw the ‘chappa’ of goa..nd u showed the ‘kurishu’🙂

  27. 28 Varsha Gangadharan
    August 10, 2011 at 1:41 pm

    the explanation about goa is vry nice..jst like ur songs..all the best vineethettaa..

  28. 29 Rohith
    August 10, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    All who want to act in cinema, i saw below add in mathrubhumi online,
    http://www.mathrubhumi.com/movies/malayalam/206320/

    I have seen many folks scrapping to vineeth sir for acting passions, could be useful for u guys.

  29. August 10, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    I came across your blog through a friend of mine. This is the only post I read and you have taken me into thinking of so many topics than just Goa. Beautiful description of subjects with minimal words. Being away from Kerala loads of memories came back flashing – school days, home, nature, peace, childhood etc.
    I havent been to Goa, but yes you gave a different picture of it from the others. From the fast paced life that I have now, maybe I should think about retiring there🙂.
    Your writing is amazing and thats a real talent you have got. I havent seen much of your movies, have only seen one of your early movies cycle. But have heard your songs and yes I am a fan of your songs.
    Keep up the writing, looking forward to read more posts. I do have a foodblog myself, a pass time for me, but its nothing like your writing.
    All the best on your new ventures. Take care.

  30. August 10, 2011 at 8:53 pm

    Dear Mr.Vineeth,
    How r you? It is really great you have given very good article about the beauty and nature of land Goa along with a few negative facts. Thinking positive and appreciating the gift of nature is good sign about a man in 21st Century who can love people too. Being honest I am here in your blog to make a request for an appointment with you if possible.Actually I really want to see you before I return to Australia on 22nd Aug.I hav tried last year through Orkut to contact you.But the time was not yet.I strongly believe I could make it this time with ur help.I had seen in blog that you heading towards Goa and I planned to drop you bit details.but it was too late.I did my traineeship in Goa .Anyway Can I please meet you in Kerala in case I get time to chase you.I will be very happy to have a chat and could meet my task(could be a achievement) if you can spend few minutes from your busy schedule I have seen you on the stage in Brisbane but as a onlooker.Looking forward to hear from you and expect to have a meeting. Thanks n regards
    Pranay( Jais George)

  31. 33 arunima
    August 11, 2011 at 1:02 pm

    you write beautifully..🙂

  32. August 12, 2011 at 5:19 pm

    Felt lyk dat em in GOA nw . .
    vinu ettaa . . i bet, one day we 2gethr go 4 a hangout😉

  33. 35 Arjun O K
    August 12, 2011 at 10:41 pm

    Rani Jai RockzzzZZZ

    Now and Then

    isnt it vinny etta

  34. 36 AMEEN OMASSERY
    August 12, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    HI Vineeth sir
    GOOD DAYS

  35. August 13, 2011 at 1:46 am

    enjoy the grt time.. brin some grass wen u come

  36. 38 sree
    August 13, 2011 at 9:32 am

    Ini ennan mattoru friendship movie we r witing 4 that, pls say……………….

  37. August 13, 2011 at 3:17 pm

    Hii vineethetta..
    I thnk ur nxt movie u can shoot some song secenes in goa bcz ur nxt movie in tat romance s ter i believe.. bcz in an interview u mentioned ri8… so im damn sure with ur words n with ur direction u can exploit goa in our mindz… it ll b a wonderfull visual treat for us… n one request plzz accept it…U should sing in all d songs in ur next movie..So tat it ll b more sweet for our ears too…..!!!
    With Luv…!!!!

    Tobby

  38. August 13, 2011 at 5:56 pm

    vineethetaa…..very nic n awesome discriptn…i felt like i too vz walking along with u through those places in goa….
    it broughts a very nostsalgic feeling in me….. even reaminds my beautiful school days…nd my first love tooo… …. ur words actually gives a visual image f goa…looking forward for ur more posts….

  39. 41 imran thalassery
    August 13, 2011 at 6:36 pm

    thnk ur a research on romance for ur new mu v..ny way tuu nice note..cu

  40. 42 Lekshmi sudhakaran
    August 14, 2011 at 1:01 am

    NJOYED dis article:)

  41. 43 Indhuja
    August 14, 2011 at 9:50 pm

    I never had the luck to visit Goa…I always became sad when I heard my friend talked about goa..about how they enjoyed it…
    But now I think it wais for good..I wouldn’t have enjoyed Goa in the way you did..I also would have partied the time…But now….
    you showed me a new way to enjoy nature..thank u..
    And I heard that your new film chappakurish became a Hit..I feel so sorry that I didn’t see it ,after reading your blog..All my frnds saw it..and they said it’s fantastic and you have done a great job..GOOD LUCK with your future films………
    AND..I LOVE YOUR VOICE….

  42. 44 Punartha
    August 17, 2011 at 11:48 am

    Uuuuuuvvvv…..!!! What an amazing write up! Buddy, loved your words. You are really blessed with a good pedigre and latent…! Make use of it in the right way.
    All the best wishes for your future tenures!

    Good Luck and May God Bless….!

  43. 45 nithin
    August 18, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    very good narration, i guess i have been to goa and as said by urself in the second para…gettin sloshed..even for me it was the same..goa means to get slossed to core…well..now thks to u bro.. u made me think of a new goa..n trst me..next holz i am gona hit goa all alone and yes with a map..plz do mention the hotels u had stayed n wer u had dined at…

    thks n regards
    nitz

  44. 46 Sooraj Dutt
    August 25, 2011 at 1:26 pm

    ” I love people who are in love ”
    kolaaam anna nice ……………

  45. 47 Vince Thomas
    August 27, 2011 at 6:47 pm

    This felt like watching the song “Uyire” from Bombay, shot @ Bekal fort, Kozhikode…..

    I grew up in India and have been to a lot of places……Rajasthan, Punjab, West Bengal, but I still feel there are so many places that I haven’t even seen… Leh, Laddakh, Shimla(Himachal), Wayanad, Sikkim..the list just seems endless…..and here I am today thousands of miles away from home in the US wondering if I’d ever be able to see these places again…

    my trip to Goa was just 3 days and it was the usual touristy places – Miramar, Calengute etc…. I wish, I had the opportunity to spend some more time and see the “real Goa, the real India”

  46. August 30, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    there is no other place than Goa in India for an awesome bachelor trip..enjoy.

  47. 49 Jacob Mathew
    September 4, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    hey…

    where You off to next…???

  48. September 9, 2011 at 12:03 am

    A nice note about Goa. You narrated your feelings in a nostalgic manner. I haven’t been Goa yet but now I could embrace the breeze of Goa from your narration. Thanks.

  49. 51 manza
    September 10, 2011 at 2:19 pm

    i love your voice………………….❤ ❤

  50. 52 unknown
    September 22, 2011 at 7:27 pm

    hai sir
    i have been reading your blog for some days. its very interesting to know you recent moves. i and my parents are interested in watching yours and especially your father’s movies and interview. in one of the interview you told about you romance and that your marriage will be there at the end of 2010, what about that.
    i am sorry if you felt that i am asking about your personal life but my parents are interested and of course me. keep going. may god bless you.

  51. September 27, 2011 at 11:28 am

    Hi Vineeth,

    Beautiful discription about Goa. I loved reading it. Your discription of rain as “such a beautiful inconvenience” is simply great ! Keep writing !!

    Best regards
    Anand

  52. July 18, 2012 at 3:28 pm

    I am very passionate and like the way u wrk , its always out of the box !!🙂

  53. July 15, 2014 at 5:16 pm

    Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s very difficult
    to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance.
    I must say you’ve done a amazing job with this. Also, the
    blog loads extremely fast for me on Safari. Superb Blog!


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 431,656 hits

calendar

August 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,466 other followers


