04
Jun
11

give me a break chappa!!

A few months back when Sameer Thahir came and narrated the subject to me at Amethyst in Chennai, there was an urge to commit this film instantly. I fell in love with the plot and the characters in no time which rarely happens to me. Still there were a million doubts in my head about how this movie is going to be executed. A week before the shoot, when I went for the script reading, that’s when I actually started loving “chappa”. The open discussions, exchange of ideas, participation of everyone involved, slowly this movie started to grow on me. Sameer kka, Shanu[fahadh fassil], unni chettan[writer], joemon [camera man], myself and many more people involved with “chappa kurish,” started getting closer to each other. I guess that’s how it works when u set out to do something meaningful.
First time in my life I stood in front of camera without fear or inhibitions. I loved playing my character, Ansari and i loved doing everything that he does in his life. Of course there were hard times when Shanu and I had to do a fight sequence for almost three days which was brutally painful. Realistic fights are not easy. Especially for a guy like me who has not done anything to have a good physique and stamina, it was really hard to take. I pitied myself for not having done anything for my body ever. But when I saw the result, all the ailments flew away. Every shot is worth the pain. And for a director like Sameer Thahir, u wouldn’t mind any bloody thing!!

chappa 01


Sameer kka is a visionary in disguise. When u see him from a distance, he would look like someone who is lost in the crowd. His face would be blank and most often he wouldn’t even know what clothes he’s wearing or if he has combed his hair or not. But as a film maker, his microscopic detailing would surprise u!! I ve not come across many film makers who have the kind of guts that he has. Some people have to try too hard to be different. But not for those people who are actually different. Sameer Thahir would join the latter group.
Shanu[fahadh faasil] has been my friend for a long time now. It was in 2005 that I spoke to him for the first time. Now in 2011 when I work with him, I am actually surprised by the transformation that he has had as an actor and as a human being.He gets a high when he acts. He’s an actor who’s extremely excited about every scene he does. Not like those young actors who keep speculating the salary of their 3rd or 4th film while they are actually doing their first film!! He loves his job and he does that with so much of grace.

chappa 02


There is so much more to write about so many people. Cameraman joemon, writer unni chettan, my other co stars.. but I think I ll stop for now. I ve to get out of the hangover that Chappa has given me. It’s time to burn those incense sticks again. It’s time to fill the rest of my A4 sheets to bring out the boy and the girl who has been falling for each other in my mind for the past several months. “Chappa” held their place for almost one and a half months now. Still, refusing to leave!!!

Give me a break “Chappa”.. I need my old self back!!!


37 Responses to “give me a break chappa!!”


  1. 1 Vignesh Vyas
    June 4, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    sounds awesome! all the best with both ‘Chappa Kurishu’ and the new script🙂

  2. 2 muji mujthaba
    June 4, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    vineeth etta…

    Best wishes…
    🙂

    ~muji

  3. 3 DS
    June 4, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    Good to hear that you enjoyed acting in another movie!

    On a side note, I think your title ‘Give me a break, Chappa’ is slightly out of place with the contents. Please do a look up on what that idiom means!

    Thanks.

  4. 4 sunil m j
    June 4, 2011 at 11:07 pm

    Om Greem Kuttichatha …….
    Here u get what u need..
    All the luck and support for Chappa and, to the boy and the girl who has been falling for each other….

  5. 5 vigil
    June 4, 2011 at 11:12 pm

    GREAT…. good luck!!!

  6. June 5, 2011 at 1:41 am

    can’t wait for Chappa Kurish man! It looks like totally a different kind of film. The posters look stunning! I wish all the very best!🙂

  7. June 5, 2011 at 2:28 am

    best wishes for the innovative move

  8. June 5, 2011 at 10:58 am

    Chappa sounds soo good.. Waiting for it eagerly!! Best wishes for all the good movies you are going to do.. And yes, I do hope you get back your old self back pretty soon..:)

  9. June 5, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Best wishes vineethji..

  10. 10 Nina
    June 5, 2011 at 5:15 pm

    Hey all the very best for everything vineethutta…….I am sure u would ve dne ur best…n yeah all the very best for the new film as well…since ur in chennai,i am sure ull get great ideas..:)..So keep blogging…n yeah don worry abt idioms n phrases,thts for english teachers….be urself…
    tke cre..
    nina

  11. 11 Sijith
    June 5, 2011 at 7:02 pm

    Good to hear from you Vineeth. Sameer as a cinematographer was promising. Looking forward for this movie. All the best for your script work.

  12. 12 Deepak Rajan
    June 5, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    Hii Brother,
    Myself Deepak ….Last week I met u and fahadh @koluthara bazzar , broadway ..u guys were in chappa’s shoot… thanks 4 the small chat & photos took with u … to be honest both u guys are very cool and friendly ( I am not flattering you) we expect more songs from uuu …(please say ..my wishes to fahadh also)
    All the Best for Chappa (I will be in theater first week)

    Thanks
    Deepak

  13. 13 Meera Babu
    June 6, 2011 at 3:50 am

    Dear Vineeth sir,
    I am excited to see this film because it looks like a quite unique story. I was just wondering if you watched the Hindi film Dhoob Ghat. From your blogs, I can tell you enjoy ‘different type’ stories and this definitely is one! Aamir Khan is the lead role so it has obviously that high standard! Wish you the best for your two new characters.
    Sincerely,
    Meera Mol

  14. 14 NEETHU PULIKODEN
    June 6, 2011 at 8:51 am

    All the best vineeth for chappa…………….we waiting for the movie…………….i hope its gone to be a great hit movie in your carrier

  15. 15 SP
    June 6, 2011 at 10:29 am

    Hi ..
    Chappa is definitely goin to b a trend setter.

    U wud nt believe…bt still…today wen I woke up..the first thot dat got into my mind was abt u…Dat its been long tym since heard from u….nd nw Im happy to c ur post…May b some kind of connections dre…:P

    And also glad to hear u r in chennai… I wud like to meet u in chennai..

    Whr in Chennai u stay???

    I know u wud nt b replying to this post…still i jst replied to ur post…

    Take care

    All the very best..

    Nd make my character gud…in ur script…enikku abhinayichu thakarkkanullathalle???
    LOL..

  16. 16 harish kumar
    June 6, 2011 at 10:30 am

    hi vineeth,

    read ur post…
    good…
    i strongly believe u wont use this post as a promo kind of a thing…
    thats y i read the whole story…
    achan udayananu tharathil ezhuthiya pole njangal viswasamarpicha ezhuthukarum directorsum njangale pattikkukayanu…mosam cinemakal eduthu..nuna paranju…jada kanichu…

    expect some change from u and team…. PATTICHAL PINNE MINDILLA….

    bye hari

  17. 17 Githin
    June 6, 2011 at 11:34 am

    gr8… den shud eagerly wait for chappa…

  18. 18 jijo
    June 6, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Dear Vineeth,

    Ningalude post vayichappol ariyathe oru pressure feel cheythu. Ethano cinema ennu
    chothichal enganeyum aavam cinema enna poleyulla oru cinema aavatte “Chappa Kurishu”
    ennu pratheekshikkunnu.

    “Cheers to Ram Gopal Verma who does some experiment in indian cinema”

  19. 19 Sreejith
    June 6, 2011 at 3:21 pm

    Congrats Vineeth and all the team 4 completing chappa successfully….Sure it wud b a great success !! hope it vil be a new add on to new generation movies.

    Really wish to be the part of these movies by reading ur blog…anyway really happy to know that u r back with the unseen boy and girl.Vineeth,Give me a small break too…

    Regards
    Sree

  20. 20 Abhilash rajan
    June 6, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    Wish u all d best Vineethetta,…….
    Me also excited wid ur narration of making Chappa> & sincerely wish to join atleast one day wid d set of Chappa,. anyway all d best for Chappa,…

    By
    Abhilash rajan

  21. June 6, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    hai… brother how are you,all the best for your chappa kurish . brother if you don’t mnd can i ask some questions please. 1: veeco termariye patti enthane abhiprayem , 2: uyarem koodan enthenkilum medicine e… lokathu kandu pidichitundo ,3: aaaranu pol barber 4:kaaanan kollatha purushenmare sahodarenmarayi kanunathu sthreekalude sthirem hobiyano

  22. 22 Arjun kuthuparamba
    June 6, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    good luck vineethetta

  23. 23 Sharon Baby
    June 7, 2011 at 10:21 am

    All the best Vineethetta:) I have a feeling that this will be a new style from Malluwood just like Traffic..anyways, have fun with your new project😀

  24. 24 Vijesh
    June 7, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    hi vineeth,

    Nice to see you back after “chappa” shoot.

    I want to become the hero of your new movie ,
    please give me a chance. please reply your mail id so that
    i can contact you and see you face to face.

  25. 25 nithin
    June 7, 2011 at 3:06 pm

    all the best vineeth..good going..

  26. 26 meenu
    June 7, 2011 at 4:06 pm

    waitina 2 c d movie chaappa kurish………
    GOOD LUCK vineethetta……

  27. 27 Visakh
    June 7, 2011 at 4:33 pm

    Hi Vineeth and Friends,

    A small question!

    What else is as interesting as cinema?

    I loved cinema more than anything once but now i feel really bored of
    cinema.I dont like to watch more than 1 or 2 scenes of movie even
    if it is a oscar winner.

    Guys i am looking for an alternative entertainment to cinema.

  28. 28 Ajith
    June 7, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    Hi Vineeth,

    Its a favor I’m going to ask you. Is it possible for you to send me a test mail and then I can mail you my request. I wouldnt want hundred thousand people seeing it because only your seeing it will make a difference. Anticipating a positive reply.

    thank you bro.

  29. 29 SANOOP
    June 8, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    I am SANOOP. I sent my profile to some theaters & directors. But I don’t get any response. this letter is to make you know about my quest.
    I completed my M.B.A course in Human Resource Management with the qualities like entrepreneurial, time management, clarity of thought, knowledge about the industry, setting a vision, compare performance, team management & trust worthy.
    I have a dream from childhood to work with a film & to make a film. I did some short films also. I need practical knowledge in film industry to fulfill my dream. Kindly allow me to work with your project.

    hopefully,
    sanoop.ps.
    9656497125

  30. 30 Vidya
    July 2, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    Hi Vineeth, very happy to see ur new projects and wish u all the very best for everythng in ur future..I hav somthng to ask u for reconfirming..Have u done ur schooling in Holy angels convent, Trivandrum till 3rd ?? Pls reply ..I m very very eager to knw this bcoz I hav a picture of a guy called Vineeth S. who ws in my class and I remembr a story that I teased him by takng his sharpener🙂 Kindly reply venevr u r free..

    Good Luck…Vidya

  31. 31 deepak g
    July 10, 2011 at 9:28 pm

    Hai Vineeth,
    I have been a viewer of smart cinemas for quite a time. After many years you people gave it in ‘TRAFFIC’ and the same is expecting from chappa. You look like a neighbourhood boy in trailors, feeling great to have people like you in our cinema, thank you and giving you best ever wishes

  32. 33 Asha
    August 10, 2011 at 12:04 am

    Chaappa kurish is just awesome ..but I didnt know the meaning of the title.I was searching for this and reached here🙂 Thanks and wish u the best… cheers

  33. 34 lijesh
    September 29, 2011 at 8:17 am

    hai vineeth ur a really a simple and friendly. fortunatly i got a chance to take photo and talk with u in ur us program.thank u very much

  34. June 25, 2013 at 12:11 pm

    We absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of
    your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.

    Do you offer guest writers to write content to suit your needs?
    I wouldn’t mind composing a post or elaborating on a number of the subjects you write regarding here. Again, awesome web site!

  35. July 6, 2013 at 7:03 am

    Hi I am so excited I found your weblog, I really found you
    by accident, while I was searching on Google for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thank you for a fantastic post and a all round entertaining blog (I
    also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to browse it
    all at the moment but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I
    will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the great
    jo.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 431,656 hits

calendar

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Categories

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,466 other followers


